They look like whole wheat saltines, don’t they? They were sitting next to the regular saltines near the soup in the lunch line.

I knew I had my next “What’s In That?” Wednesday post!

It’s the first time I’ve seen what appear to be whole wheat saltine crackers in individual packages. I was pretty certain they weren’t going to be “real food,” but I took some, just to check.

In checking the ingredient listing, here’s what I learned:

ENRICHED FLOUR (WHEAT FLOUR, NIACIN, REDUCED IRON, THIAMINE MONONITRATE [VITAMIN B1], RIBOFLAVIN [VITAMIN B2], FOLIC ACID), SOYBEAN OIL, DEFATTED WHEAT GERM, STONE GROUND WHOLE WHEAT FLOUR, PARTIALLY HYDROGENATED COTTONSEED OIL, SUGAR, TOASTED HULLED SESAME SEEDS, SALT, LEAVENING (BAKING SODA, CALCIUM PHOSPHATE), HONEY, WHEAT GLUTEN (A PROTEIN), CORN SYRUP, MALT SYRUP, SOY LECITHIN (EMULSIFIER), CARAMEL COLOR,

And here are the reasons why I don’t consider these crackers “real food”:

  • Not whole wheat — first ingredient is “wheat flour,” but without the word “whole” in front of it, it’s not whole wheat
  • Has more than five ingredients
  • Has ingredients that I can’t pronounce
  • Contains processes oils
  • Contains sugar, corn syrup and malt syrup